State of Louisiana Parish of Vernon



VERNON PARISH POLICE JURY COMMITTEE MEETING TUESDAY, AUGUST 6, 2024 5:00 PM (immediately following the Special Call Meeting)

PARISH GOV'T COMPLEX BUILDING 300 S. 3RD STREET, 2ND FLOOR LEESVILLE, LOUISIANA

AGENDA

If any person not attending the meeting desires to submit comments on any item(s) listed on the meeting agenda, they may submit their comment(s) no later than 8:00 a.m. on Tuesday, August 6, 2024. Comments may be submitted as follows:

- Via email to vppj@vppjla.com
- Via fax at 337-238-0240
- Drop off written comments at the Parish Government Complex Building
- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Invocation
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance
- 4. Roll Call
- 5. Visitors
- 6. Public Comment
- 7. Committee Reports:
 - 1. Capital Properties
 - 2. Econ. Development & Planning
 - 3. Equipment
 - 4. Finance
 - 5. Fire Protection and Solid Waste
 - 6. Permit & Claims

- 7. Personnel
- 8. Road Maintenance & Construction
- 9. Veterans Affairs
- 10. Ways & Means
- 11. Wildlife & Lakes

- 8. Discuss adopting a resolution to fully accept the additional 960 feet of Tilly Drive (that intersects with Pointe South Road), District 2 Ward 2. The road has been in the system for 1 year and continues to meet all the of Chapter 17 Section 23 of the Vernon Parish Code of Ordinances the road may be fully accepted into the Parish Road Inventory. This additional 960 feet will be added to the existing 814 feet, making Tilly Drive 1,774 feet long.
- 9. Discuss holding a public hearing on Monday, September 16, 2024 at 10:00 a.m., during the regular police jury meeting, to hear public input on the following proposed ordinances:
 - 1. An ordinance to abandon Lynn Nash Road (#3020), District 3 Ward 3 in its entirety. This road is no longer needed for a public purpose, all residents of the road were bought out during the flood acquisition project.
 - 2. An ordinance to abandon Wilcox Road (#3081), District 3 Ward 3, in its entirety (528 feet). This road is no longer needed for a public purpose and this request was made by the only resident on the road.
- 10. Discuss adopting memorial resolutions for the following community members: Mr. Roger Lynn Smart, Mr. Eddie Wayne Corbett, Mrs. Maxine Gunn, Mrs. Brenda Jean Smith, Mrs. Wanda O'Blanc, Mr. Alton Robertson, Mr. Dalbert Wills, Mr. Charles Wayne Johnson, Mr. Paul Harring, Mr. David Netherland, Mr. Clayton Hillibrand.
- 11. Discuss authorizing payment of all invoices as authorized by the Finance Committee and authorize payment of all expenditures above the budgeted amount from Ward Maintenance and/or Construction accounts.
- 12. Motion to adjourn.

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, if you need special assistance, please contact Belinda S. Diehl, Parish Secretary, at 337-238-0324, describing the assistance necessary.