## State of Louisiana Parish of Vernon



MINUTES SOLID WASTE COMMITTEE MEETING

VERNON PARISH POLICE JURY PARISH GOVERNMENT COMPLEX BUILDING 300 S. 3<sup>RD</sup> STREET, 2<sup>ND</sup> FLOOR LEESVILLE, LOUISIANA

MONDAY, JULY 29, 2024 10:00 a.m.

The Vernon Parish Police Jury met for a Solid Waste committee meeting on Monday, July 29, 2024 at 10 a.m. in the Police Jury meeting room with the following members **PRESENT**: James B. "Jim" Tuck – President, Marvin Hilton, Douglas "Doug" Roshong, Cody Hostetler, Scottie Benjamin, Charnel Bailey, Malcolm "Dean" Mitchell, David Brister, Curtis L. Clay – Vice President, Steven "Quintin" Thompson, and Mr. Kenny Haymon. The following members were **ABSENT**: Alton "David" Fox.

The Solid Waste Committee convened as a committee of the Vernon Parish Police Jury, by Mr. Steven "Quintin" Thompson, Chairman, and was then ready for the business on the agenda.

The invocation was given by Mr. Kenny Haymon and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Doug Roshong.

Mr. Tim Devonshire, District Manager and Mr. Brian Davis, Operations Manager,

Waste Connections, were present at the meeting.

The jury express their frustrations with the frequent calls they receive regarding late and missed trash. Mr. Devonshire and Mr. Davis acknowledged there were issues, particularly in some areas, and that they were working on addressing those issues. They explained that, since the house count was completed, they have hired up and brought in 2 additional trucks to help alleviate the problem. He stated that the jury should have noticed a decrease in calls and complaints in the last 3-4 weeks, which the jury acknowledged.

In addition to the 2 new trucks that they already have, they are also getting 3 new trucks that will replace aging trucks in their fleet and that should also help since there will be less equipment break downs.

Waste Connections agreed to keep the jury updated on any delays or issues that might cause delays.

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Mr. Bailey, seconded by Mr. Thompson and carried, to adjourn.

B. Tuck ames B. Tuck

President

Diehl

Belinda S. Diehl Secretary

Rhonda M. Plummer

Rhonda M. Plummer Administrator/Treasurer