## State of Louisiana

## Parish of Vernon



MINUTES
COMMITTEE MEETING

VERNON PARISH POLICE JURY PARISH GOVERNMENT COMPLEX BUILDING 300 S. 3<sup>RD</sup> STREET, 2<sup>ND</sup> FLOOR LEESVILLE, LOUISIANA

MONDAY, JUNE 10, 2024 5:00 p.m.

The Vernon Parish Police Jury met for a committee meeting on Monday, June 10, 2024 at 5 p.m. in the Police Jury meeting room with the following members **PRESENT**: James B. "Jim" Tuck – President, Marvin Hilton, Douglas "Doug" Roshong, Cody Hostetler, Scottie Benjamin, Charnel Bailey, Malcolm "Dean" Mitchell, David Brister, and Curtis L. Clay – Vice President. The following members were **ABSENT**: Alton "David" Fox, Steven "Quintin" Thompson, and Mr. Kenny Haymon.

The Vernon Parish Police Jury was convened as the governing authority of the Parish of Vernon, by Mr. James B. "Jim" Tuck, President, and was then ready for the business on the agenda.

The invocation was given by Mr. Curtis Clay and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Cody Hostetler.

Mr. Richard Nolen was present at the meeting to make a complaint about the staff at the Vernon Parish Animal Shelter.

Mrs. Dixie Carson, was present at the meeting to discuss the Waste Connections

Transfer Station on Hebert Rd.

Mr. Roland Hollins, Allen Parish Police Jury, was present at the meeting to discuss Carbon Sequestration in Louisiana.

The President asked if there was any public comment on any agenda items; there was none.

The President asked for committee reports to be presented by the committee Chairman.

Mr. Marvin Hilton, Chairman, submitted the Personnel Committee report.

Mr. David Brister, Chairman, submitted the Road Maintenance & Construction Committee report.

Having heard all committee reports, the President returned to the main agenda.

The jury discussed adopting a resolution authorizing Sabine State Bank to make monthly transfers to the Operating Account at Merchants and Farmers Bank for sales tax disbursements.

The jury discussed adopting a resolution establishing a policy governing the requirements of Louisiana Revised Statute 42:14(E) to allow for any member of the public with disabilities recognized by the Americans with Disabilities Act or their designated care giver to participate in the meetings of the Vernon Parish Police Jury remotely by teleconferencing and providing for all other matters thereto.

The jury discussed adopting a resolution to re-finance John Deere 670G Motor Grader (equipment # D-100), D5, with Cadence Bank.

The jury discussed adopting memorial resolutions for the following community members: Mr. Theo Anderson III, Mrs. Chris Corbin, Mr. James Harold Tarver, Mrs. Martha "Pud'n" Palmer, Mr. Eli Strother, Mr. Leland Harris.

The jury discussed authorizing payment of all invoices as authorized by the Finance Committee and authorize payment of all expenditures above the budgeted amount from Ward Maintenance and/or Construction accounts.

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Mr. Bailey, seconded by Mr. Roshong and carried, to adjourn.

James B. Tuck

President

Belinda S. Diehl

Secretary

Rhonda M. Plummer Administrator/Treasurer