State of Louisiana

Parish of Vernon



MINUTES COMMITTEE MEETING

VERNON PARISH POLICE JURY PARISH GOVERNMENT COMPLEX BUILDING 300 S. 3RD STREET, 2ND FLOOR LEESVILLE, LOUISIANA

MONDAY, MAY 13, 2024 5:00 p.m.

The Vernon Parish Police Jury met for a committee meeting on Monday, May 13, 2024 at 5 p.m. in the Police Jury meeting room with the following members **PRESENT**: James B. "Jim" Tuck – President, Marvin Hilton, Alton "David" Fox, Cody Hostetler, Scottie Benjamin, Charnel Bailey, Malcolm "Dean" Mitchell, David Brister, Curtis L. Clay – Vice President, Steven "Quintin" Thompson, and Kenny Haymon. The following members were **ABSENT**: Douglas "Doug" Roshong.

The Vernon Parish Police Jury was convened as the governing authority of the Parish of Vernon, by Mr. James B. "Jim" Tuck, President, and was then ready for the business on the agenda.

The invocation was given by Mr. Curtis Clay and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. David Fox.

Mr. Jacob McKee, McKee Agency, was present at the meeting to discuss the recent increased in insurance rates in Louisiana.

The President asked if there was any public comment on any agenda items; there was none.

The President asked for committee reports to be presented by the committee Chairman.

Mr. David Fox, Chairman, submitted the Capital Properties Committee report.

Mr. Scottie Benjamin, Chairman, submitted the Equipment Committee report.

Mr. Curtis Clay, Chairman, submitted the Finance Committee report.

Mr. Marvin Hilton, Chairman, submitted the Personnel Committee report.

Mr. David Brister, Chairman, submitted the Road Maintenance & Construction Committee report.

Having heard all committee reports, the President returned to the main agenda.

The jury discussed holding a public hearing on Monday, May 20, 2024 at 10:00am, during the regular police jury meeting, to hear public input on the following proposed ordinance:

1. A proposed ordinance to abandon P. Woodle Road (#6004), District 6 Ward 6, in its entirety (1,584 feet beginning at Herring Road).

The jury discussed adopting a resolution adopting millage rates for 2024.

The jury discussed appointing the News Leader as the Official Journal for Vernon Parish from July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2025.

The jury discussed appointing Merchants & Farmers Bank and Sabine State Bank as fiscal agents for the Vernon Parish Police Jury from July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2025.

The jury discussed Change Order No. 2 for the Ft. Johnson (Polk) Growth Management Infrastructure Improvement Sub-Regional Pkwy Phase 2 (MA Project No. H1-12022-DD). Change order is for a reduction (-\$330,358.05) in price due to reconciliation of bid quantities and to add additional time to the contract due to weather days.

The jury discussed adopting memorial resolutions for the following community members: Former Senator James David Cain, Former Mayor of New Llano Mr. Freddie Boswell, Mrs. Becky "Matin" Tilley, Mrs. Betty Sutton, Mrs. Delores Monk, Mrs. Betty Jean Weeks, Mrs. Dorli Diane Roberts, Mrs. Olivia "Moosie" Marie Johnson, Mrs. Diane Henry White, Mr. Aubrey Jerald Lockhart, Mrs. Wanda Louise Jordan, and Mr. Paul Lynn Johnson, Mrs. Theresa West, Mr. Richard Snell.

The jury discussed authorizing payment of all invoices as authorized by the Finance Committee and authorize payment of all expenditures above the budgeted amount from Ward Maintenance and/or Construction accounts.

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Mr. Bailey, seconded by Mr. Benjamin and carried, to adjourn.

James B. Tuck
President

Belinda S. Diehl

Belinda S. Diehl

Belinda S. Diehl Parish Secretary Rhonda M. Plummer

Parish Administrator/Treasurer