State of Louisiana Parish of Vernon



MINUTES COMMITTEE MEETING

VERNON PARISH POLICE JURY PARISH GOVERNMENT COMPLEX BUILDING 300 S. 3RD STREET, 2ND FLOOR LEESVILLE, LOUISIANA

MONDAY, FEBRUARY 12, 2024 5:00 p.m.

The Vernon Parish Police Jury met for a committee meeting on Monday, February 12, 2024 at 5 p.m. in the Police Jury meeting room with the following members **PRESENT**: James B. "Jim" Tuck – President, Marvin Hilton, Douglas "Doug" Roshong, Cody Hostetler, Scottie Benjamin, Charnel Bailey, Malcolm "Dean" Mitchell, David Brister, Curtis L. Clay – Vice President, and Steven "Quintin" Thompson. The following members were **ABSENT**: Alton "David" Fox, and Kenny Haymon.

The Vernon Parish Police Jury was convened as the governing authority of the Parish of Vernon, by Mr. James B. Tuck, President, and was then ready for the business on the agenda.

The invocation was given by Mr. Marvin Hilton and the Pledge of Allegiance was led

by Mr. Quintin Thompson.

The President asked if there was any public comment on any agenda items; there was none.

The President **RECOGNIZED:** District 12 Police Juror Kenny Haymon was sworn-in on February 7, 2024 as President of the Police Jury Association of Louisiana. Congratulations, Kenny, on this esteemed position.

The President gave the following **NOTICE:** The Regular meeting of the Vernon Parish Police Jury will be held on Tuesday, February 20, 2024 due to the President's Day holiday.

The President asked for committee reports to be presented by the committee Chairman.

Mr. Scottie Benjamin, Chairman, submitted the Equipment Committee report.

Mr. Curtis Clay, Chairman, submitted the Finance Committee report.

Mr. Marvin Hilton, Chairman, submitted the Personnel Committee report.

Mr. David Brister, Chairman, submitted the Road Maintenance & Construction Committee report.

Mr. Quintin Thompson, reporting for Mr. Kenny Haymon, Chairman, submitted the Ways & Means Committee report.

Having heard all committee reports, the President returned to the main agenda.

The jury discussed holding a public hearing on Monday, March 18, 2024 at 10:00 a.m., during the regular police jury meeting, to hear public input on a proposed ordinance to change the name of Trailer Park Road (#7025), District 7 Ward 7, to Cornwell Road.

The jury discussed adopting a resolution approving and accepting Agreement Between Owner and Engineer between the Vernon Parish Police Jury and Meyer & Associates, Inc. for the Rodeo Arena Facility Improvements project (MA Project No. H1-22084) and to authorize the President and/or Administrator/Treasurer to execute this agreement and any other contracts or documents related to this project on behalf of the Police Jury.

The jury discussed adopting a resolution approving and accepting Road Project Agreement between the Vernon Parish Police Jury and the USDA, Forest Service, Kisatchie National Forest, for road improvements to Bailey Road (#7040), District 5 Ward 7, and authorize the President and/or Administrator/Treasurer to execute this agreement and any other contracts or documents related to this project on behalf of the Police Jury.

The jury discussed adopting a resolution in support of grants to be submitted through the Louisiana Division of Administration, Office of Community Development, Local Government Assistance Program (LGAP), FY 2023-2024, and to authorize the President and/or Administrator/Treasurer to execute this and any other documents or contracts related to this grant on behalf of the Police Jury.

The jury discussed approving the amended 2023 budget and the proposed 2024 budget for the operation of the North Louisiana Criminalistics Laboratory Commission; annual budget must be approved by a majority of the parish level governing body in the laboratory service area.

The jury discusseds adopting memorial resolutions for the following community members: Rev. Harold Wright, Jr., Mr. Johann Weeks, Mrs. Thelma Terrel, Mr. Ronald Clark,

Mrs. Lettie M. West, Mr. Jerry Dale dePerrodil, Mr. Lavon Hillman, Mr. James Hill, Mr. Jerry Johnson, Mr. Anthony Snell, Mrs. Gladys LaCaze, Mrs. Dana Warran, Mr. Claude Gordon Gosnell, Jr., Mrs. Jeanette Martin, Mr. John Moss, Mrs. Christina Moss.

The jury discuss authorizing payment of all invoices as authorized by the Finance Committee and authorize payment of all expenditures above the budgeted amount from Ward Maintenance and/or Construction account.

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Mr. Bailey, seconded by Mr. Benjamin and carried, to adjourn.

B. Tuck ames B. Tuck

President

Siehl Belinda S. Diehl

Parish Secretary

Rhonda M. Plummer

Parish Administrator/Treasurer